Dry sparkplugs

Moto Rumi technical problems or solutions
martinasa

Dry sparkplugs

Post by martinasa » Fri May 15, 2020 4:59 pm

Hi!

Just tried to start up my Scoiattolo for the first time today. The sparkplugs are dry and it seems no fuel reaches the cylinders. After some test to start it running fuel is dripping from the airfilter. The petroltap is working and I've tripple-checked the jets... Know the engine's supposed to have new pistons and cylinders and In the vespa world you could put the pistons on the wrong way and no fumes would enter the cylinder. Anything else you can recommend me to try?

BR

Martin

hugomez
Site Admin

Re: Dry sparkplugs

Post by hugomez » Fri May 15, 2020 5:25 pm

Hi Martin,

I am not an expert but I would check that the float bowl is not stuck, or maybe one of the two jet is block. (Main jet or idle jet)

Greets,
Hugo
My little Formichino here: http://www.formichino.com/pictures1.html

Elie

Post by Elie » Fri May 15, 2020 10:19 pm

I think the two halves of the crankcase are leaking towards each other so that the pressure from one to the other goes at the wrong time relative to the position of the piston of the other

martinasa

Post by martinasa » Fri May 15, 2020 10:39 pm

@elie
Elie wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 10:19 pm
I think the two halves of the crankcase are leaking towards each other so that the pressure from one to the other goes at the wrong time relative to the position of the piston of the other
Thanks for your answers...

Shouldn't it be leaking oil aswell then? Theres no oil-leak?

Hugo, what about the pistons?

Martin

Elie

Post by Elie » Fri May 15, 2020 11:11 pm

no no oil leak because it is a dry crankcase that only contains petrol oil mixture

martinasa

Post by martinasa » Fri May 15, 2020 11:19 pm

Elie wrote:
Fri May 15, 2020 11:11 pm
no no oil leak because it is a dry crankcase that only contains petrol oil mixture